Saturday, May 14, 2011

Sam Cooke - Ain't That Good News (1964)

Sam Cooke was an African-American gospel, R&B, soul, and pop singer, songwriter, and entrepreneur. He is considered to be one of the pioneers and founders of soul music.
Ain't That Good News was the final album to be issued during Cooke's lifetime, before his death at the age of 33. Released in 1964 on RCA Victor Records.

Vocal: Sam Cooke
Drums: Hal Blaine, John Boudreaux, Edward Hall, Earl Palmer
Bass: Chuck Badie, Buddy Clark, Ray Pohlman, Clifford Hils, Eddie Tilman
Guitar: Norman Bartold, Howard Roberts, Barney Kessel, Allen Reuss, Le Roy Crume, Clifton White, John Pisano
Percussion: Emil Radocchia, Linwood Mitchell
Piano: Harold Battiste, Raymond Johnson, Lincoln Mayorga
+ Horn & Strings Section + Backing Vocals

Producer: Luigi Creatore, Hugo Peretti
Arranger: René Hall, Joe Hooven
Engineer: Dave Hassinger

Recorded at RCA Victor's Music Center of the World Studio, Hollywood, CA in 1963-64.


All songs written by Sam Cooke except where noted

1. (Ain't That) Good News – 2:30
2. Meet Me at Mary's Place – 2:44
3. Good Times – 2:28
4. Rome (Wasn't Built in a Day) (Sam Cooke, Beverly Prudhomme) – 2:34
5. Another Saturday Night – 2:42
6. Tennessee Waltz" (Pee Wee King, Redd Stewart) – 3:12
7. A Change Is Gonna Come – 3:13
8. Falling in Love (Harold Battiste) – 2:45
9. Home (When Shadows Fall) (Jeff Clarkson, Peter van Steeden) – 2:32
10. Sittin' in the Sun (Irving Berlin) – 3:18
11. There'll Be No Second Time (Clifton White) – 3:03
12. The Riddle Song (Traditional) – 2:30

No comments:

Post a Comment