Saturday, April 30, 2011

Ned Doheny - Hard Candy (1976)

Ned Doheny is an American singer, songwriter and guitarist from Malibu, California who has recorded five albums as well as performing on many albums by other artists including compatriots Don Henley and Glenn Frey of the Eagles, J.D. Souther, Linda Ronstadt, and Jackson Browne (with whom he was once in a band).

Hard Candy was the second solo album by Ned Doheny released in 1976 for Columbia Records. It features his version of "Love of Your Own" (written with Hamish Stuart) which was also recorded with Stuart's Average White Band the same year. It also includes the original version of “Get It Up for Love” which was covered by T├íta Vega in 1979. Her version was a Top 20 dance single.

Guitars : Ned Doheny, Ernie Corello, Steve Cropper
Bass : Dennis Parker, Bryan Garofalo, Colin Cameron, Laszlo Wicky, John Heard
Keyboards : David Foster, Jimmy Calire, David Garland, Craig Doerge
Drums : Gary Mallaber, John Guerin
Horns : Tower Of Power Horn Section, Tom Scott, Jim Horn, Chuck Findley, Don Menza
Vibes: Victor Feldman
Percussion : Steve Forman, Victor Feldman
Background vocals : Ned Doheny, Rosemary Butler, Fleming Williams, Brooks Hunnicutt, Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Linda Ronstadt, J.D. Souther, Steve Cropper, Hamish Stuart

Producer: Steve Cropper


1. Get It Up for Love (Ned Doheny) - 4:44
2. If You Should Fall (Ned Doheny) - 3:36
3. Each Time You Pray (Ned Doheny) - 3:38
4. When Love Hangs in the Balance (Ned Doheny) - 5:12
5. Love of Your Own (Ned Doheny/Hamish Stuart) - 3:46
6. I’ve Got Your Number (Ned Doheny) - 3:14
7. On the Swingshift (Ned Doheny) - 3:03
8. Sing to Me (Ned Doheny) - 3:36
9. Valentine (I Was Wrong About You) (Ned Doheny) - 5:06

No comments:

Post a Comment